MID DEVON DISTRICT COUNCIL

MINUTES of a **MEETING** of the **REGULATORY COMMITTEE** held on 26 August 2022 at 10.30 am (on the rising of the Licensing Committee)

Present

Councillors J Cairney (Chairman)

J Bartlett, D R Coren, J M Downes,

Miss J Norton and Mrs E J Slade

Apologies

Councillor(s) Mrs F J Colthorpe, R J Chesterton, D J Knowles and

L D Taylor

Also Present

Councillor(s) A Wilce and R J Dolley

Also Present

Officer(s): Tanya Wenham (Operations Manager for Public Health

and Housing Options), Deborah Sharpley (Solicitor), Carole Oliphant (Member Services Officer) and Jessica

Rowe (Member Services Apprentice)

1 ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN (VICE CHAIRMAN OF COUNCIL IN THE CHAIR)

Cllr J Cairney was duly elected Chairman of the Licensing Committee for the municipal year 2022-2023

2 **ELECTION OF VICE CHAIRMAN (0.04.00)**

Cllr Mrs E J Slade was duly elected Vice Chairman of the Licensing Committee for the municipal year 2022-2023

3 APOLOGIES AND SUBSTITUTE MEMBERS (0.04.57)

Apologies were received from Cllrs Mrs F J Colthorpe, R J Chesterton, D J Knowles and L D Taylor.

Cllr A Wilce attended via ZOOM.

4 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST UNDER THE CODE OF CONDUCT (0.05.22)

Members were reminded of the need to make declarations where appropriate

5 **PUBLIC QUESTION TIME (0.05.31)**

There were no members of the public present

6 **MINUTES (0.06.13)**

The minutes of the meeting held on 3rd December 2021 were agreed as a true record and duly **SIGNED** by the Chairman.

7 ENFORCEMENT UPDATE (0.06.28)

The Operations Manager for Public Health & Housing Options gave an overview of the service and noted that:

- There were 2 enforcement issues with both having driver licences suspended. There were Police investigations on both. The first driver had chosen to retire and the second had subsequently proved to be innocent and was reapplying for his licence
- New driver applications appeared to be on the increase in Mid Devon District Council
- The Taxi Licensing Policy was under review and was due to be updated

(The meeting ended at 10.40 am)

CHAIRMAN